Renault teams with Irish Restaurant Awards 2017

Renault Ireland and The Restaurant Association of Ireland have announced Renault Ireland as the official car partner of the Irish Restaurant Awards 2017, writes Trish Whelan . The Irish Restaurant Awards (RAI) will travel around the country driving new Renault models for a series of regional events this March to announce county and regional award winners across 15 different categories. County winners will be announced at four regional events with over 600 guests expected to attend each. This year’s host counties for the events are Kilkenny, Fermanagh, Limerick and Sligo. This year over 80,000 individual nominations were cast online from 11-25 January. Pictured above are Ciara Doyle (Business Development & Sponsorship Manager, Restaurant Association of Ireland), and Liz O’Gorman (Marketing Manager Renault Ireland) with two chefs from The Radisson Blue St Helen’s, Stillorgan Road, Dublin. Speaking on the quantity of nominations received, CEO of the Restaurants Association of Ireland

Cahill and Czapnik dominate loose autocross

Sean Cahill (JB Buggy) won the 2016 Munster Autocross Championship on the last round of the series, writes Austin Shinnors.

Cahill earlier lifted the National Loose Autocross (Buggy) Championship and the Wexford man is the first driver to win both championships in the same year. In the National series Cahill won every round and in Munster he claimed victory in five rounds and he amassed 135 points.

Runner-up in Munster was Paul O'Driscoll (Semog Buggy) who tied with Whitby Moynan (Toyota Special) on 116 points, but O'Driscoll scooped second as his score on the first event was better than Moynan. Fourth overall was claimed by Fermoy based Polish driver Lukasz Czapnik (Impreza). However Czapnik will remember 2016 as the year he was the best saloon driver in Munster and National autocross, another remarkable autocross double.

West Limerick drivers Eddie Walsh (Impreza) and William Meade (Nova) were second and third saloons home.

2016 was a great year for Munster Autocross, with an increase in registered competitors, now standing at 44. As ever the competition was fierce as proven with the championship going down to the wire on the last round. All nine rounds of the championship were held as planned and the autocross committee are grateful for the efforts of the clubs and their COCs and marshals. The clubs who participated are Skibbereen (2 races), Munster, Clare, Killarney, Imokilly, Birr, Limerick and Cork. The Birr Loose autocross was voted the best event in the Munster Autocross while the Wexford event was voted the best loose autocross in the National championship.

Motorsport in Ireland faces a 25pc increase in insurance levy for 2017. Some clubs may pass the new levy on to competitors by way of increased entry fees.

Better news for the current year will see a 10-round Munster Autocross Championship (8 rounds to count). The series kicks off as usual with Skibbereen (19th Feb) and it will be followed by a brace of races hosted by the Clare MC on March 5th and May 21st. It is back to County Cork for the next couple with Munster CC on June 11th and the second Skib race on July 9th.

Killarney MC will host the first grass autocross on Aug 6th followed as usual by Imokilly Oct 15th. Definitely the business end of the championship now, but there is a trio of gravel events with Birr Nov 19th, Limerick Dec 10th and finally Cork MC on Dec 27th.

The 2017 Munster Autocross is supported by Daly Motor Services, Killarney, O'Shea Bus Hire, Barrett International Transport and Pablo Photography.

(Picture courtesy Pablo Photography.)


Popular posts from this blog

First pictures of Insignia Sports Tourer

Renault teams with Irish Restaurant Awards 2017

Are Eco-Conscious Millennials fuelling record SUV sales?